YA WATCH (5/26 - 6/2)

So remember back in the day when I used to do YA WATCH? If you're new around here, YA WATCH was a feature where I showcased all the new reveals that happen around the publishing industry so you don't have to be running around for all types of new information!

I stopped doing it due to some discouraging events but now I am so pumped to start doing it again! It not only helps you guys be up to date, but helps me be up to date! And so, here we go!


Title: Let The Sky Fall
Author: Shannon Messenger
Release Date: March 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Pages: --
Edition: Hardcover
Cover Judge: I actually like it! It reminds me of novels such as The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Tempest but the color choice is astounding.
Summary Judge: I AM SO EXCITED. This will probably be the first book I've read that features a male HUMAN having a FEMALE supernatural guardian.
Goodreads: Link

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston is the only survivor of the category five tornado that killed his parents. Every night since the storm, a beautiful, dark-haired girl has swept through his dreams. She's the only clue to his past, and he clings to the hope that she's real.
Audra is real, but she's also a sylph. An air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even twist it into a weapon. She's also a guardian--Vane's guardian--and has sworn an oath to protect him at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.
When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra must help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim--the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock a memory Audra wishes could be erased. And as the storm bears down on them she starts to realize the greatest danger might not be the warriors coming to destroy them, but the forbidden romance that's grown between them.

Title: Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1)
Author: Lenore Appelhans
Release Date: January 15th, 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Pages: 280
Edition: Hardcover
Cover Judge: I LOVE IT. So pretty and I love the lighting effect. 
Summary Judge: Lenore is a super lovely person and the summary sounds amazing so I'm excited to read it!
Goodreads: Link

Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow prisoners, Felicia passes the endless hours downloading memories and mourning what she’s lost—family, friends, and the boy she loved, Neil.
Then a girl in a neighboring chamber disappears, and nobody but Felicia seems to recall she existed in the first place. Something is obviously very wrong. When Julian—a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life—comes to offer Felicia a way out, she learns the truth: a rebellion is brewing to overthrow the Morati, the guardians of Level 2.
Felicia is reluctant to trust Julian, but then he promises what she wants the most—to be with Neil again—if only she’ll join the rebels. Suspended between Heaven and Earth, Felicia finds herself in the center of an age-old struggle between good and evil. As memories from her life come back to haunt her, and as the Morati hunt her down, Felicia will discover it’s not just her own redemption at stake… but the salvation of all mankind.
The Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson got a new paint job! I liked the old covers but I really, really like the new ones!

DEALS:all information comes from Publisher's Weekly or the author's website.

"Julie Berry's LUCAS, pitched in the tradition of The Scarlet Letter and Speak, in which the heroine has been silenced by tragedy and is now an outcast in her morally rigid alternate Colonial universe; told entirely in the second person, as if a love letter, to the boy who indirectly started all the trouble, to Kendra Levin at Viking Children's, in a pre-empt, for publication in Fall 2013, by Alyssa Eisner Henkin at Trident Media Group (World)."
Gillian Levinson at Razorbill has acquired YA author Aprilynne Pike's Earthbound, first in a new series about a girl who discovers that she is a fallen goddess and must choose between the boy she loves in this life and her eternal lover, with whom she'll be able to access the powers that are her birthright. Publication is set for summer 2013. Jodi Reamer at Writers House brokered the two-book deal. "
Rachel DeWoskin (Big Girl Small) sold her first YA novel, Blind, to Regina Hayes at Viking Children’s Books. Hayes took world English rights, in a two-book deal, from Jill Grinberg of Jill Grinberg Literary Management. The novel, which is set for fall 2013, follows a blind 15-year-old girl whose small town is rocked after a local teenager is abducted, then murdered. Viking said the heroine, who is trying to regain her independence after losing her sight in an accident, begins to have an odd effect on the townspeople. The publisher elaborated: “Emma’s unusual way of seeing, her friendships with other teenagers, and their collective rage at the loss of one of their own, force everyone—kids and adults—to confront their own blindnesses.”
D4EO Literary agent and author Mandy Hubbard (But I Love Him) sold her YA novel The Truth About Us to Brian Farrey-Latz at Llewellyn’s Flux imprint. Hubbard’s colleague Bob Diforio brokered the two-book North American rights deal, and she will be publishing under her existing pseudonym, Amanda Grace. In Truth a 16-year-old enrolled in a college-level program has an affair with one of her professors. The second book in the deal is currently untitled.


Simon and Schuster revealed a Behind The Scenes video for the creation of Level Two's cover!

An excerpt for The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson was released:


I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE HOST MOVIE. I actually loved that book and I can't wait to see it on the big screen! (I also happen to love Saoirse Ronan!)


Once Upon A Readathon Sign-ups have officially begun!

And that's it for this week! See you guys next week!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...