Waiting On Wednesday: Harper Edition

As always, I must do a Waiting On Wednesday when HarperCollin's catalogs come out! (Note: I'm not including sequels because duh I'm dying for: Asunder, Fragments, Shadows Of The Silence, Through The Ever Night!)
This is hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine.

Title: Pulse
Author: Patrick Carman
Release Date: February 26th, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins (Katherine Tegan)
Notes: Dude, "pulse"-pounding fantasy with a love story? Yes please!

The year is 2051, and the world is still recognizable. With the help of her mysterious classmate Dylan Gilmore, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a “pulse,” and Dylan has the talent, too.

In riveting action scenes, Faith demonstrates her ability to use her pulse against a group of telekinesis masters so powerful they will flatten their enemies by uprooting street lights, moving boulders, and changing the course of a hurtling hammer so that it becomes a deadly weapon. But even with great talent, the mind—and the heart—can be difficult to control. If Faith wants to join forces with Dylan and save the world, she’ll have to harness the power of both.

Patrick Carman’s Pulse trilogy is a stunning, action-filled triumph about the power of the mind—and the power of love.
Title: Mila 2.0
Author: Debra Driza
Release Date: March 12th, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins (Katherine Tegan)
Notes:  This sounds kind of like it'll appeal to Dollhouse fans and since I'm watching that right now, this interests me greatly!

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity–style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.

Title: Prophecy
Author: Ellen Oh
Release Date: January 2nd, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins (HarperTeen)
Notes:  High Fantasy? Yes. Anything I see "for fans of Tamora Pierce", i'm instantly intrigued. 

Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and she's the prince’s bodyguard. She’s a demon slayer and an outcast, hated by nearly everyone in her home city of Hansong. And she’s their only hope....
When murdered kings and discovered traitors point to a demon invasion, Kira takes to the road with the young prince. With only the guidance of the Dragon King’s cryptic prophecy, Kira must battle demon soldiers, evil shamans, and the Demon Lord himself to find the ruby treasure that was once lost and to raise a prince into a king.
Intrigue and mystery, ancient legend and action-packed fantasy come together in this heart-stopping first book in a trilogy.
  Title: Pivot Point
Author:  Kasie West
Release Date: February 12th, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins (HarperTeen)
Notes:  This might be the one I'm most psyched for! Two difference stories featuring the same girl who is seeing two different futures?

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. When Addie’s parents tell her they are getting a divorce and she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known—the answer should be easy. One six-week Search proves it’s not. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through...and who she can’t live without.
Reminiscent of the movie Sliding Doors, the chapters alternate between Addie’s two possible futures. With sweet romance, surprising twists, and brilliant storytelling, readers will have no choice but to fall in love with Pivot Point.

Title: City of a Thousand Dolls
Author: Miriam Forster
Release Date: February 5th, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins (HarperTeen)
Notes:  "perfect for fans of The Girl Of Fire and Thorns and Graceling". Um, yeah. I'm sold. 

The girl with no past, and no future, may be the only one who can save their lives.
Nisha was abandoned at the gates of the City of a Thousand Dolls when she was just a child. Now sixteen, she lives on the grounds of the remote estate, where orphan girls apprentice as musicians, healers, courtesans, and, if the rumors are true, assassins. Only when she begins a forbidden flirtation with the city’s handsome young courier does she let herself imagine a life outside the walls. Until one by one, girls around her start to die.
Readers who flock to lush fantasies like the Graceling series and Tamora Pierce’s Bloodhound books will be won over by Nisha and the captivating world ofCity of a Thousand Dolls.

Which one are YOU most excited for? Happy Reading!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...